This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 788204.

Mapping actors in Europe who are active on the advancement of gender equality objectives in R&I and HE

 

Results of the online survey

Community Mapping

ACT has carried out a Community Mapping survey to map actors –practitioners and experts- who are currently engaged in the advancement of gender equality objectives at universities, research centres and research funding organisations across Europe. The survey was conducted between November 2018 and February 2019 in order to gain knowledge on existing practices and collaborations regarding gender equality, their networks and the current needs at their institutions. Moreover, the survey aimed at identifying potential members of the Communities of Practice (CoP) that ACT supports as agents to develop gender equality actions in the European Research Area.

The survey mainly reached Higher Education Institutions, but also other research institutions, in almost all EU28 countries, which was the regional focus of the study. A Social Network Analysis (SNA) shows collaboration patterns in relation to gender equality and identifies central actors in the European landscape of research organisations. It also indicates regions that are so far disconnected from the European network and which are interested in becoming part of a Community of Practice (CoP).

Half of the respondents are researchers, one third have a leading position and nearly one third hold a position like equal opportunities officer – all these three groups overlap. The reported barriers and consequent needs of survey respondents provide important information for the ACT consortium to develop suitable and helpful tools to promote and strengthen collaborations as well as suggesting topics to be addressed in innovation events with diverse stakeholders.

Have a look at the survey results in the ACT Community Mapping Report: Cooperation, Barriers and Progress in Advancing Gender Equality in Research Organisations (deliverable 1.2 of the ACT project).

Below we showcase the map of actors currently involved in advancing gender equality in their institutions who agreed to be visible in the ACT website.

Organisation Institute Country City Contact Email
Frederick University (FRED UNIV.) Cyprus Nicosia Petroula Mavrikiou p.mavrikiou@frederick.ac.cy
Academy of Arts, Architecture and Design in Prague (VSUP) Czech Republic Prague Prague Crofony timea.crofony@vsup.cz
University of Nantes Medical School France Nantes Patricia Lemarchand patricia.lemarchand@univ-nantes.fr
University of Applied Sciences Berlin (HTW Berlin) Germany Berlin Jette Hausotter jette.hausotter@htw-berlin.de
Cork Institute of Technology (CIT) Nimbus Ireland Cork Susan Rea susan.rea@cit.ie
Innovapuglia Italy Valenzano Giovanna Avellis g.avellis@innova.puglia.it
University of Bergamo (UNIBG) Italy Bergamo Giovanna Galizzi giovanna.galizzi@unibg.it
Vilnius University (VU) Faculty of Communication Lithuania Vilnius Aurelija Novelskaite aurelija.novelskaite@knf.vu.lt
Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN) Institute of Literary Research Poland Warsaw Agnieszka Mrozik agnieszka.mrozik@ibl.waw.pl
University of Lódz (UL) Faculty of Economics and Sociology, Institute of Sociology Poland Lodz Izabela Desperak izabela.desperak@uni.lodz.pl
Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toru (UMK) Faculty of Humanities Poland Torun Derra Torun aldewicz@umk.pl
University of Silesia in Katowice Faculty of Law and Administration Poland Katowice Urszula Torbus urszula.torbus@us.edu.pl
New University of Lisbon (UNL) Portugal Oeiras Cláudio Soares itqb.direction@itqb.unl.pt
University of Bucharest (UNIBUC) Faculty of Journalism and Mass Communication Romania Bucharest Oana Baluta oana.baluta@fjsc.ro
Institute of Marine Sciences Marine Science Institute Spain Barcelona Esther Garcés esther@icm.csic.es
Hospital Germans Trias i Pujol Scientific Management Spain Badalona Julia Garcia Prado jgarcia@igtp.cat
University of Valencia (UV) Theoretical Physics Department Spain Valencia Maria Antonia Lledo maria.lledo@ific.uv.es
European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) Theory Department Switzerland Geneve Andrea Thamm andrea.thamm@gmail.com
Faculty of Science of Sfax Tunisie Sfax Amine Elleuch amineelleuch@hotmail.com
University of Chester Institute of Gender Studies United Kingdom Chester Emma Rees e.rees@chester.ac.uk
Sheffield Hallam University (SHU) Finance, Accounting and Business Systems United Kingdom Sheffield Bridget Ogharanduku b.ogharanduku@shu.ac.uk